|
Quechup is a Scam
2008-01-24 18:00:00 If you received an invitation to join a social networking site called Quechup, then beware because it is a scam. There are a lot of people reporting that their gmail address books have been stolen by this company and spammed with invitations to join this networking site. Basically what happens is that Quechup is sending invites to all of the contacts from the stolen adress books. If you don't want to be a victim then do not join the website. Apparently gmail stores your address book within a temporary javascript file and this is how Quetchup managed to spam people.
QUECHUP SPILLS SPAM INTO EMAIL BOXES
2007-09-15 14:24:00 Social network hijacks user accounts to send unauthorized invitesOnline dating site Quechup bills itself as the "social networking site that's sweeping the globe," but what it doesn't tell you is that it does so by spamming every Web email address in a member's contact list with invites to join the network, often without their knowledge or permission.U.K.-based Quechup has quickly garnered a less-than-tasty reputation for sending mass invite mailings that appear to be from the email of a trusted friend.When a new user signs up with Quechup, they are offered the option to check if any of their friends are already in the network. If a user agrees to import their email contacts into the network, Quechup then automatically mails every Web email address with an invite to join from the user's email, claiming that the user has sent the invite.Link to complete story: http://www.consumeraffairs.com/-news04/2007/09/quechup.html ~Sandy G.
By: ATYOURSERVICE
Quechup = Scam
2007-09-14 23:37:00 If you received an invitation to join a social networking site called Quechup then beware, because it is a scam. There are a lot of people reporting that their gmail address books have been stolen by this company and spammed with invitations to join this networking site. Basically what happens is that Quechup is sending invites to all of the contacts from the stolen adress books. If you don't want to be a victim then do not join the website. Apparently gmail stores your address book within a temporary javascript file and this is how Quetchup managed to spam people.
Beware of Quechup.com. It's One Hell of a Spammer!
2007-09-12 14:32:00 As soon as I've learned that Quechup.com has accessed all the contacts of it's members and send invitation to join Quechup.com, I've automatically deleted my Quechup account.Before I have joined Quechup, I've received a huge number of invitation from different people, most of them I don't even know. It was through the invitation of a friend from BlogCatalog, that I've finally decided to join. Unfortunately, the invitation I've received from him was an invitation created by Quechup by accessing the contacts of my friend on his email and send an invitation to all of them. Clearly, what Quechup did was UNAUTHORIZED and ABUSIVE.After I have signed up for a Quechup account, the invitation to join Quechup suddenly stopped from flooding my email. I thought things are going to be okay only to find out that it's just the beginning. You see, I am using three emails for different purposes. The one I've used to sign up at Quechup is my Gmail account. When I've opened my other emails, ...
By: Blogging Mix
Don?t accept invites from Quechup - It?s a Spam Engine
2007-09-10 16:46:00 I have heard twice this weekend that Quetchup is an email Spam Engine disqused as a social network. Scoble and Read Write Web have both said they have had bad experiences with it in the past week. I too got an invite from a friend, but had not accepted due to the fact that I have ...
Stay Away from Quechup
2007-09-09 14:53:00 Trying to get back into blog mode, I naturally checked out one of Garry’s blogs and saw his post on the Quechup Scam. I then ran across a post on eWeek about Quechup’s viral marketing. It boils down to Quechup spoofing email origins - what a bunch of morons. Can you believe that a ...
Just say NO to Quechup
2007-09-02 05:16:00 Via http://technomarketer.typepad.c-om/technomarketer/2007/09/just--say-no-to-.html I've been had. Hoodwinked. Sadly and inadvertently I may have brought you into the mess. There is a new service out there called Quechup (I will not link to it) which is posing as a legit social network. It is NOT. WOW .. they keep piling up: http://www.wisebread.com/extra--spam-hold-the-quechup http://jawboneradio.blogspot.co-m/2007/09/quechup-crap.html http://www.sparehed.com/2007/08-/01/hold-de-quechup/ http://harddrivelife.com/2007/0-9/01/quechup-no-mustard/ http://blogs.chron.com/techblog-/archives/2007/09/spam_alert_ju-st_say_no_to_quechup_1.html http://www.conversationblog.com-/journal/2007/8/9/the-very-old--quechup-story-learn-from-the-pa-st.html http://www.nabble.com/what'-;s-up-with-this-quechup-invite--spam-crap-on-the-list-t4358259s-6741.html http://www.geeknewscentral.com/-archives/007263.html http://www.google.com/search?q=-Quechuphttp://www.readwriteweb.-com/archives/quechup_social_net-... |



